Tags

plMożesz pracować jako menedżer eventów, cieszyć się każdym nowym zleceniem, pracować wśród gwiazd, cieszyć się pracą i w tym pozostać. Jeżeli jednak wybierzesz ten zawód jako szczebel kariery, to znaczy, że chcesz się rozwijać. Potrzebujesz wtedy osobistego rozwoju, który będzie szedł w parze z rozwojem twojego stanowiska.

Jak spojrzę wstecz to widze, że stopnie mojej kariery zmieniały się co drugi rok. Wykonywałem jakąś pracę, organizowałem event, który rozwijał moje zdolności i w konsekwencji powodował awans. Czasami wiedziałem, że jestem gotowy do tego by “iść wyżej”, ale celowo zostawałem wiedząc, że jeszcze mogę się czegoś nauczyć. Były też sytuacje, kiedy proszono mnie o pozostanie. Nie zostawałem, bo czułem, że rozwinę się w innym miejscu.

Tym sposobem organizowaelm wszystkie możliwe rodzaje eventów, włącznie z pokazami mody, konferencjami, wydarzeniami sportowymi… Co ciekawe, przy organizacji eventów wysokobudżetowych, szczególnie z udziałem celebrytów, Rodziny Królewskiej, wcale nie doświadczałem mniej, niż przy wydarzeniach niskobudżetowych. Najważniejszy był rozwój, by nie stać “w miejscu”.

Jak w każdym innym zawodzie, tu także swoją pracę musisz znać bardzo dobrze. Nazywam to profesjonalizmem, który można osiągnąć przez doświadczenie.

enBE AN EVENT MANAGER – PART 2

There is a difference between managing events as a job, and going into event management for a career. If you are happy working where you are and wish to stay there, that’s fine. You can enjoy life to the full for all sorts of reasons, such as working close to where you have always lived, or having your family close-by, or just enjoying the job and not wanting to move on.

But, a career in event management means moving up the career ladder and will require you to get more and more experience of events. Inevitably, this will mean moving on to other jobs as you develop your career.

I found that I moved on every two years or so. I would gain the experience of the job I was doing, then I would take that experience with me to gain more experience. Sometimes, I wasn’t ready to leave a job, but I knew I had gained all the experience from that position. Other times, I was asked to stay, but I felt there were better things waiting for me elsewhere.

That is the way I achieved all-round event experience that includes fashion shows, conferences, sports events, product launches, parties, awards, banquets, film screenings and concerts. I found myself working on some of the highest-budget events, but also with events that had a restricted budget. I was able to work on high profile events for celebrities and royalty, but I worked many events that were low-profile, as well. Through it all, I only achieved experience by not staying in one place.

As with every career, you need to know your job well, to do it well. It’s called professionalism, and the way to be professional is through experience.

